This & That

3.5 room apartment
This & That · 05. November 2023
When an apartment is advertised, the first picture is extremely important. Does it describe the apartment in Ottenbach in its current condition?

The Seal has arrived
This & That · 31. October 2023
A few weeks ago, I saw an offer on Twitter to support my favorite animal welfare organization Ocean Conservation Namibia. Via Gimme Swag you could order a cute stuffed seal. Today the baby seal arrived. Only 323 were made. Isn't he cute?

Great job Springboks!
This & That · 27. October 2023
I was so happy that the Springboks were able to win this Rugby World Cup again. This team is so important for this wonderful country in the south of Africa. The team has shown that cohesion and willpower lead to the goal! Man of the tournament for me: Handré Pollard!

Day of the Willisauer Ringly
This & That · 23. July 2023
Today we celebrate the day of the Willisauer Ringlis, the legendary biscuit from Central Switzerland. I invented this day myself in 2022. It was only logical that I visited Willisau today and also bought a pack from Amrein Confiserie. However, I don't recommend "the elbow trick" to eat the pastry unless you want to break either your hand or your elbow. Simply soak in coffee for a few minutes. Tastes great!

Happy Farther's Day
This & That · 18. June 2023
Although Father's Day is not celebrated in the same way as Mother's Day in Switzerland, it is nevertheless a beautiful occasion to remember my wonderful dad, who sadly passed away last year.

Across the border
This & That · 03. June 2023
Today I did something illegal. I crossed the green border into France despite a warning sign. It was only a few steps, but still. Just after the border near Allschwil there is a poppy field. I just couldn't resist. France is always worth visiting. A bientôt, j'espère!

An elephant in Murten
This & That · 29. May 2023
Today I would like to commemorate a tragic moment in the small Fribourg town of Murten. Because on 28 June 1866, a bull elephant was killed with a cannon in this small town. What sounds like a bad joke is unfortunately reality. What you read again and again is that the animal killed a circus keeper and went crazy. But only the one who puts an elephant in chains is crazy. I visited him today at the Natural History Museum in Bern. But not even his skeleton is spared by a circus tent....

An elephant in Zurich
This & That · 28. May 2023
My focus topic this week is the wonderful elephant. Instead of going to the zoo, I decided to take a walk to the Elefantenbach in Zurich. The numerous families who had a picnic really brought me back to my own childhood. An easy and recommended walk in the middle of the city. It does have a car park, but please use the ZVV bus. There is a bus stop right next to the car park (Schlyfi).

A restaurant for a film location
This & That · 20. May 2023
Yesterday I happened to pass a restaurant that reminded me strongly of a creepy restaurant like in the film "American Werewolf". It was all the more eerie that we had drawn the way there by means of a dice.... I was very relieved to find that it was no longer being run. It is also interesting that I was not the only one who misread the restaurant name. Apparently, you used to be able to eat a fabulous "fledermousse" there. And read it wrong again... Very scary!

Happy Morther's Day
This & That · 14. May 2023
Today is Mother's Day. I celebrate mine all year around. Happy Mother's Day also for those who have recently become mothers. And what could make a mum prouder than a little duckling? Simply adorable.

Show more